A Summer Jam Short Story

A few summers ago I had gotten my car broken into while at a music festival in central Washington. Everything was stolen.

At first I was both devastated and fixated regarding my losses. It soon came to my realization that I should only invest my thought, time, and energy into controllable aspects of the situation. All stolen items and their total price were written down, and I then filed a police report.

None of my belongings have since been returned to me, though a positive, introspective outlook on the situation has taught me valuable lessons. Money and physical belongings do not garnish contentment. Love, wisdom, and knowledge do.

Experience is the best teacher in life. C.S. Lewis said it best, “Experience: that most brutal of teachers. But you learn, my God do you learn.” Embracing adversity with an optimistic outlook will yield favorable results.

Leave a Reply

